
RULES FROM BOONTA EVE PODRACE  

Podracing Objective Rules  

This section is a new rule for Young Jedi.  

The exciting Podrace from Star Wars: Episode I is now yours to create with Young Jedi. When you win 
the Podrace, you win the game!  

It all starts with a new card type, called an Objective. You may have only one Objective card in your 
game deck, and it counts against the 60-card limit. Objective cards are Wild Cards with three white dots 
in the yellow, purple, and orange positions. You decide whether you'll be leaving out a Battle card, a 
Weapon card, or a Location/Starship card when you build your deck. Your Objective card has no deploy 
counters, and no destiny number (since it never goes into your draw deck and can't be drawn for 
destiny).  

The first Objective card for Young Jedi is called Boonta Eve Classic. Play your Objective card when the 
game begins (before you draw destiny to see who goes first), and it stays in play for the entire game. 
Your Objective is not an Effect card, so it doesn't count against your one Effect per planet. If both 
players start the game with the Boonta Eve Classic Objective card in play, just place them side by side 
(they're not stackable or unique).  

Boonta Eve Classic  

You may deploy one Podracer pilot and one Podracer Weapon card to your Boonta Eve Classic Objective 
card, using your deploy counters to pay for them as usual. These cards are in play, so (for example) if 
Anakin is at your Objective card, you can't play him to a Location at the same time. You may only have 
one copy of the character and the weapon card on the Objective for the entire game. Cards at your 
Objective are always face up (never hidden). During your Deploy Step, when you deploy a Podracer pilot 
here, you may deploy a matching Podracer Weapon card from your draw deck (and vice versa).  

A matching Podracer Weapon card has the character's name in its card title. For example, Sebulba's 
Podracer is the matching Podracer Weapon card for any version of the Sebulba stackable character. 
Note that all versions of the two stackable characters Anakin Skywalker and Sebulba are Podracer 
pilots, whether this characteristic is in the card's subtitle or not.  

Lap Cards  

When you have a Podracer pilot and his matching Podracer Weapon card at the Objective during your 
Deploy Step, you may play lap cards to your Podracing pile. You must start your Podracing pile with a 
card with a destiny number of 1, then play a card with destiny 2, and so on up to 6. You may not play 
Location cards as lap cards. You do not have to use any of your counters to play lap cards to your 
Podracing pile.  

Lap cards are not in play (so you don't have to worry about stackable cards played as lap cards). Refer 
only to their destiny numbers. However, these cards remain a part of your draw deck, so you may lose 
them for damage or draw them to Even Up, but only if your draw deck is already exhausted. Use them 
in the reverse order of playing them (so a 5 is used before a 4, and so on).  

When you play one complete sequence from 1 to 6, you finish one lap. Place a lap token on your 
Objective card, and then shuffle those six cards back into your draw deck. If you finish a lap and still 
have some Thrust available, you can use the remaining Thrust to start the next lap. When you finish 
three laps (place the third lap token) your opponent must immediately place the remaining cards in his 
draw deck into his discard pile, and you win the game!  

 

 



Podracing Characteristics  

Each of your Podracer pilots has three characteristics, as listed below.  

Thrust – The maximum number of lap cards that pilot may play to his Podracing pile each Deploy Step, 
equal to the number of Thrust tokens on that pilot. All Podracer pilots begin with a Thrust of 0. Before 
you Thrust in each of your Deploy Steps (including the turn you deploy the pilot), place a Thrust token 
on your Podracer pilot. You may only Thrust once per each of your Deploy Steps.  

You may not have more than 4 Thrust tokens on your Podracer pilot. (NEW) 

Handling – Each Podracer pilot has a Handling number, which means that you may play any card with 
that destiny number as a handling card, to represent any number needed in a lap sequence. You may 
play no more than three cards as handling cards in a completed lap. The Handling number for each 
Podracer pilot is the last digit in the collector number on his card.  

Poor Ben Quadrinaros gets a 0 for handling, which he can't use. ("Ooh, there goes Quadrinaros' power 
coupling!") Ratts Tyerell gets a 7, which he can't use either, but that's what he gets for recklessly 
boosting through the Boonta tunnels.  

Refuel – Each Podracer pilot has a Refuel number, and you may draw up to that number of cards in 
your Deploy Step. Your pilot's Refuel number is equal to one half his current Thrust, rounded up. You 
must Thrust first in the same Deploy Step before you can Refuel. Once you have Refueled, you may not 
Thrust again in the same Deploy step.  

 


